San Diego Bowl Game Association Adds Two to Hall of Fame

| Holiday Bowl News

Former Executive Director Bruce Binkowski and Former Texas Head Coach Mack Brown Inducted

SAN DIEGO – Earlier today, the San Diego Bowl Game Association, which produces the Holiday Bowl and San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl, inducted two new members into their Hall of Fame. Bruce Binkowski and Mack Brown were recognized at a luncheon held at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina.

In 1978, Bruce Binkowski was hired as the first full-time employee of the Holiday Bowl and remained a cornerstone for the organization for the following 38 years. As Public Relations Director and then Director of Marketing, Bruce was instrumental in helping build the Holiday Bowl’s national reputation as America’s Most Exciting Bowl Game. Binkowski was eventually named the Holiday Bowl’s Executive Director in 2001. He remained in that role through the 2014 bowl games. He retired in February of this year.

Under Binkowski’s leadership, the Holiday Bowl delivered an annual average economic impact of nearly $30 million per year to the city of San Diego, and, in 2005, the NCAA certified a second San Diego bowl game, the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl, adding to the region’s economic impact.

Coach Mack Brown brought the Texas Longhorns to five Holiday Bowls, the most appearances in the game’s history by any coach other than BYU’s LaVell Edwards.

Starting in 2000, the Longhorns played in three Holiday Bowls over a four-year span, and each game went down to the wire. A back and forth battle with the Oregon Ducks came down to the final play, with Texas falling just short, 35-30. In 2001, Brown’s squad scored 27 fourth quarter points, and roared back to beat Washington 47-43 in one of the most exciting games in the Bowl’s history. Two years later, the Longhorns once again mounted a fourth quarter rally that fell just short in a 28-20 loss to Washington State. In 2007, Coach Brown evened out his Holiday Bowl record with a 52-34 win over Arizona State, and in his final appearance in America’s Most Exciting Bowl Game, the Longhorns defeated the Cal Bears 21-10 in 2011.

The San Diego Bowl Game Association selects inductees on a bi-annual basis.

San Diego Bowl Game Association Hall of Fame Members:

Major Applewhite, Texas (2001) quarterback, inducted 2011

Kyle Basler, Washington State (2003) punter, inducted 2013
Bobby Bell, Missouri (1983) defensive end, inducted 1995
Robbie Bosco, BYU (1984) quarterback, inducted 1997
Clay Brown, BYU (1978-80) tight end, inducted 1993
Reggie Campbell, Navy (2005) running back, inducted 2013
Richard K. Circuit, Board of Directors (1986 – present), inducted 2013
Ty Detmer, BYU (1989-91) quarterback, inducted 2001
LaVell Edwards, BYU (1978-84, 1989-91, 1993) head coach, inducted 1993
Hayden Fry, Iowa (1986-87, 1991) head coach, inducted 1995
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State (1988) quarterback, inducted 2003
Darran Hall, Colorado State (1997) wide receiver, inducted 2007
Joey Harrington, Oregon (2000) quarterback, inducted 2011
Raymont Harris, Ohio State (1993) running back, inducted 2003
Craig James, SMU (1980) running back, inducted 1997
Brian Kavanagh, Kansas State (1995), inducted 2005
Herb Klein, Holiday Bowl president (1987), inducted 2009
Les Land, Holiday Bowl’s first executive director (1978), inducted 2003
Sonny Lubick, Colorado State (1994-95, 1997) head coach, inducted 2009
Phil McConkey, Navy (1978) wide receiver, inducted 1993
Jim McMahon, BYU (1978, 1980-81) quarterback, inducted 1993
Bart Oates, BYU (1980-82) center, inducted 2005
John Reid, Holiday Bowl executive director (1980-2000), inducted 2001
Bucky Richardson, Texas A&M (1990) quarterback, inducted 2001
Tony Roberts, Holiday Bowl national radio announcer (1979-2004), inducted 2005
Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State (1988) running back inducted 1999
Bill Snyder, Kansas State (1995, 1999, 2002) head coach, inducted 2007
Tim Spencer, Ohio State (1982) running back, inducted 1995
G.E. “Vinnie” Vinson, Board of Directors (1978-95), inducted 2011
Leon White, BYU (1982-84) linebacker, inducted 2001
Kyle Whittingham, BYU (1978-81), linebacker, inducted 2009
Steve Young, BYU (1982-83) quarterback, inducted 1995